Missouri Genealogy

Jameson Town Officials and 1881 Business Directory

Town Officials Officials for 1878 George P. Allen, chairman; A. O. Siple, clerk; William Gillespie, Joseph Long and Henry C. Dusky, trustees; J. F. Hamaker, treasurer; William M. Briggs, attorney; H. B. Hubbard, marshal. Officials for 1879 George P. Allen, chairman; D. C. Threlkeld, clerk; J. H. Stucker, J. D. Feurt and J. H. Albros, trustees; J. W. Long, treasurer and collector; T. A. Gaines, attorney; J. H. Miller, marshal. Officials for 1880 Joseph D. Feurt, chairman; David C. Threlkeld, clerk; J. H. Stucker, Thomas Ingraham and Henry C. Dusky, trustees; C. C. Curvin, treasurer; Thomas A. Gaines, attorney; E. …

Jameson Town Officials and 1881 Business Directory Read More »

Towns of Jackson Missouri

Jackson township can boast of two villages, not of very great proportions but like all rising towns they believe immensely in their future. They are both on the line of the St. Louis & Omaha Railroad, some five miles apart and of course a great convenience to the farmers and stock-raisers in that vicinity. Lock Springs, situated in the southwest corner of the township, and the county as well, claims a solid population, on a fair count, of fifty. It is a railroad station with a depot building and has the following business houses: Francis M. Burris, druggist Litton & …

Towns of Jackson Missouri Read More »

Jameson Missouri Township Law and Officials

There had been several changes in the township law, made by the legislature, and for a while they came so often that it was hard to keep track of the procession. The first list of township officers of record, was the election of July 2, 1872, when the following township officers were elected: Supervisor, William Earl Clerk, E. D. Powell Assessor, Charles M. Gray Collector, John A. Martin Constable, R. P. Fuller Justices of the Peace, Henry Ward and James K. Heath There were 223 registered votes in the township. The supervisor law still held for the spring election of …

Jameson Missouri Township Law and Officials Read More »

Societies of Winston Missouri

This order has a fine lodge numbering fifty-one members, and is known as Winston Lodge No. 371. It was organized in the spring of 1877 with twelve charter members, as follows: F. B. H. Brown, William Leeper, Henry Koons, John Kalbfleisch, John T. Shaw, Joseph Swike, M. J. Benson, George W. Zentz, James T. Matchett, B. M. Bickel, W. P. Castor, and William S. Mallory. The charter is dated March 5, 1877. The names of the first officers of Winston Odd Fellows Lodge, are F. B. H. Brown, N. G.; Joseph Swike, V. G.; John T. Shaw, Sec’y; M. J. …

Societies of Winston Missouri Read More »

Stories of Grand River Missouri

A Chapter Of Accidents One of the saddest cases that happened in this township was the suicide of Mrs. Price, wife of Cyrus Price. She had been complaining for some days and had a deep feeling of despondency, but none thought of such a thing as the violent taking of her own life. She dressed her children and sent them to a neighbor’s house, then went to the woods and climbing up a leaning tree, adjusted the rope to a limb and then tied the other about her neck and jumped off. It was believed from the neck being broken …

Stories of Grand River Missouri Read More »

Sheridan Missouri History

Sheridan is bounded on the north by Liberty, and on the east by Monroe township. On the south it joins the Caldwell county line, and on the west Colfax township. In area of territory it is a congressional township, and is designated as township fifty-eight north, of range twenty-eight west. It has twenty-one thousand seven hundred and thirty-seven and eighty-one one-hundredths acres of land, nearly one half of which is timber, and the remainder prairie. Sheridan township in the last ten years has advanced but a trifle in population, in fact losing, when the natural increase is considered. The population …

Sheridan Missouri History Read More »

Sheridan Missouri Officers

The local municipal affairs of the township since its organization have been economically managed. There has been no charge. of peculation, and, so far as the township affairs are concerned, may be safely said to have been carried on prudently and successfully. The election for township officers in 1873 resulted as follows: George E. Barkdoll, supervisor; Miles Bristow, clerk; M. J. Benson, assessor; Charles L. McCrary, collector; Reason Castor, constable; Samuel Surface and John G. Black, justices of the peace. At the next election some changes were made, and the spring election resulted in the choice of the following named …

Sheridan Missouri Officers Read More »

Sheridan Missouri Stories

A Sad Accident The neighborhood near New Garden schoolhouse was considerably excited over the finding of the body of Jacob J. Spohn, an old man nearly sixty years of age. He was found drowned in Marrowbone Creek, on Tuesday, June 14, 1870. He had attended to his duties in the morning, and, after eating a light breakfast, took his fishing pole and started for Marrowbone Creek. Not returning to dinner, his family became somewhat alarmed and went in search of him. They found his body floating in the water about a foot below the surface, life apparently having been extinct …

Sheridan Missouri Stories Read More »

Sheridan Township, Daviess County, Missouri

Sheridan township was first organized in 1869, and its territory was taken from the townships of Gallatin and Jefferson. It is a good township of land, though on some of the uplands the soil is light. On Marrowbone Creek, of which there are two branches on the eastern edge of Monroe township, the soil is of a rich black mould, very deep and extremely fertile. It has some fine timber, and in this the township has a source of considerable wealth, and as Marrowbone Creek waters the township on both the north and south, the timber is pretty evenly distributed …

Sheridan Township, Daviess County, Missouri Read More »

Sheridan Township, Daviess County, Missouri Biographies

The following contains brief biographies of men from Sheridan Township, Missouri. You can search the entire listing using the search at the bottom of the page. Bacon, Irwin Bristow, Miles Caster, John J. Coulson, David H. Creason, Andrew J. Donaldson, Enoch S. M. Elgin, William Givens, Isaac Grantham, Robert H. Gueney, I. B. McCrary, Charles L. Neal, William Needham, Horatio E. Noah, George N. Rorabaugh, John White, Daniel Whiteaker, Aaron B.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top