Daviess County

Progress of Jamesport Missouri

The township is six miles square, with the exception of a small jog in the range line in township sixty-one, and has twenty-two thousand forty-six and thirty-three one hundreths acres of as beautiful and fruitful land as the sun ever shone upon. It is bounded on the north by Lincoln township, on the east by the Grundy county line, south by Jackson, and west by Grand River township. It is watered by the Little Muddy and its branches on the west, and Hickory Creek and a branch which empties in the East Fork of Grand River in Grundy county on …

Progress of Jamesport Missouri Read More »

Pattonsburg Missouri Churches and Schools

Baptist Church The Missionary Baptist Church of Pattonsburg was organized February 2, 1881, and the original members were William G. Weldon, Louis Noble, E. H. Tillery, H. B. Tillery, F. R. Bullock, J. H. Weldon, N. G. Dillon, Rebecca Noble, Mary Shanks, D. E. Dillon, M. J. Weldon, Lucy M. Christie, Elizabeth Hardin, and Melvina Robbins. Another member has joined since and they have now in course of erection, and nearly completed a handsome frame structure thirty-six by fifty feet at a cost of $1,500. The Liberty Church near McFalls was erected in 1860 and is well sustained. The Free …

Pattonsburg Missouri Churches and Schools Read More »

Pioneers of Sheridan Missouri

Sheridan township was first settled in the year 1833, and the first settler was James McCreary, who drove his preemption stake in the southeast quarter of section thirteen. E. Mann was the next arrival and he came the same year, and soon after a few more whose names are forgotten. In 183’11 quite a number came in, among whom were Isaac Splawn, Benjamin Rowell, E. Kelso, Charles McGee, Nathan Marsh, Anthony Mullins, E. Hulett, and A. McMurtry. These old pioneers were the first that settled in the township, and they blazed the way for those who followed. It was these …

Pioneers of Sheridan Missouri Read More »

Packwood Murder Trial

The above murder case came up before the Supreme Court and was decided in favor of the prisoner, at the January term, 1858, of said court, in Jefferson City. The Supreme Court held, “that the testimony adduced did not warrant the verdict of guilty of murder in the first degree; that the court, below, erred in giving the above instruction, inasmuch as there was-no evidence to support it.” The trial took place in Caldwell county in April, 1857, having been taken by a change of venue, from Daviess county. The defendant, Larkin Packwood, was indicted by the grand jury of …

Packwood Murder Trial Read More »

Pattonsburg, Benton Township, Daviess County, Missouri

The town is situated on the bottom lands on the bank of Sampson Creek, in a place called “Elm Flats” from the number of elms growing upon it. The old town of Pattonsburg was located about one and a half miles north of the present location, and went by that name since 1845. Matthew Patton built the first water-mill in the township, just on the edge of town, on Big Creek, and from being called Patton’s Mill, it became changed to Pattonsburg as the name of the settlement. The location of the town was up on a rolling eminence, with …

Pattonsburg, Benton Township, Daviess County, Missouri Read More »

Other Portions of Grand River

The western, central and southwestern portions of the township were settled much more rapidly than the eastern portion, and the northeast. It was not until 1848 that the first school-house was put up in that part of the township. Then a log school-house was built on section eleven, township Sixty, range twenty-seven. The increase all over the township, excepting the eastern portion, had been quite steady from the year 1840, but the location of the county seat south of the river, which had been as good as settled that year by the refusal of the county judges to entertain the …

Other Portions of Grand River Read More »

Old Settlers of Jamesport Township

The first settler, as we have mentioned above, was Thomas N. Auberry, – who came from Ray county in 1834 and settled about two miles from where the town of Jamesport now stands. His place took the name of Auberry Grove. Mr. Auberry came from Kentucky and he located on section twenty-nine. His Eccentricity Thomas Auberry was an old pioneer of the genuine backwoods stripe. He was a sort of “Jack of all trades,” could turn his hand, and voice for that matter, to most anything. He was a preacher, doctor, farmer, horse-trader, horse-racer, surveyor, and could play cards so …

Old Settlers of Jamesport Township Read More »

Monroe Missouri Officers

The first board of trustees was composed of the following named persons: William G. Steward, E. W. Payne, and John G. Wilson. McClain Wilson was the first clerk; and John G. Wilson, the first assessor. The first meeting of the board was held at the house of McClain Wilson. In 1872 there was organized the “Hesperian Literary Society.” There are several industries within the township such as blacksmith shops, wag on-repair shops, saw-mills, and the township is well represented by preachers, doctors, carpenters, etc. The first list of officers elected under the township law for 1872, being the first year …

Monroe Missouri Officers Read More »

Monroe Township, Daviess County, Missouri

Monroe township is one of the oldest settled portions of the county, although it was first a portion of Honey Creek then of Gallatin and Harrison townships. It was organized in 1869 and at that time its territory was taken from the two last named townships, and is in area a congressional township. It is bounded on the north by Union, east by Harrison and a corner of Jackson townships, south by the Caldwell county line and west by Sheridan township, and covers an area of twenty-three thousand and. thirty-eight and eighty-eight one-hundredths acres of land of which fully three-fifths …

Monroe Township, Daviess County, Missouri Read More »

Monroe Missouri Biographies

The following contains brief biographies of men from Monroe Township, Missouri. You can search the entire listing using the search at the bottom of the page. Green, James T. Green, Oliver P. Harlow, Jordan L. Henry, Stephen Jones, John H. Langford, Elias S. Lewis, William McKim, James Milstead, Campbell Reed, Abraham Sawyer, John W. Stewart, George G. Stewart, William G. Tuggle, John A., Judge Tuggle, William S. Whitt, Henry A. Wood, John W.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top